Mortensen Award

Troy Mitchell Mortensen Award

Troy Mitchell receives 2021 Affirmation Mortensen Award

September 24, 2021 |

Troy has demonstrated long-term and successful leadership and service in Affirmation. He not only began Fathers in Affirmation, but he also served as the Affirmation Intermountain West Region president, supporting chapters from Canada to Arizona. Affirmation is changed for the better for the work Troy Mitchell has done.

Cristina Moraes

Call for 2021 Mortensen Award Nominations

May 22, 2021 |

This award is named in honor of Paul Mortensen, the first to receive it and one of the founders of Affirmation, and is the highest honor Affirmation can bestow upon an individual member. We call upon all members and supporters of Affirmation to nominate worthy candidates for this award for 2021.

Cristina Moraes

Cristina Moraes Receives 2020 Affirmation Mortensen Award

October 16, 2020 |

The 2020 recipient of the Affirmation Mortensen Award is Cristina Moraes. Cristina has been leading Affirmation in Brazil for over four years and has helped hundreds of LGBTQ Mormons come into Affirmation. She was one of the founding members of Affirmation in Brazil almost five years ago. She has given literally thousands of hours of service to Affirmation and has traveled all over Brazil helping organize conferences, meetings, and events in various cities.

Un individuo que es autosuficiente y motivador de los demás.

Call for Nominations for the 2019 Mortensen Award

April 22, 2019 |

This is the highest honor Affirmation can bestow upon an individual member whose leadership, commitment to service and inspiring example makes a real difference in the lives of others and in the mission of the organization. Please submit nominations right away, but no later than May 25, 2019.

Ron Schow 2017 Mortensen Award Recipient

Call for 2018 Mortensen Award Nominations

May 18, 2018 |

The Mortensen Award was established to recognize outstanding leadership and service within Affirmation. It is the highest honor Affirmation can bestow upon an individual member. Submit nominations at any time, but no later than June 20, 2018.